This included an armoury to provide weapons for the defence of this part of the City. The Hall survived the Great Fire of 1666, which was halted a few yards to the south by a combination of good fortune and the efforts of the people of Coleman Street Ward. In 1795 the Hall was extended to take on the corner site of Coleman Street and London Wall. It was completely rebuilt in 1839 to become the beautiful listed building to be seen today with its stunning blend of 16th and 17th Century armour, weapons and paintings.
The Bermuda Society holds its Annual Dinners for Members and Guests biennially in the City of London – The Armourers’ Hall being a particular favourite with members and guests.